VIA

A New Collaboration to Highlight Veteran Food Producers

Farmers Markets, Find Local Food, Get Involved, Kelly Wilson, Learn More, Press Release

Taste the Local Difference (TLD) is excited to announce a new partnership with the Veterans in Agriculture (VIA) Network of Michigan Food and Farming Systems (MIFFS). The Veterans in Agriculture Network seeks to ensure the personal and professional prosperity of military veterans through connections to careers and opportunities in Agriculture. They offer farmer veterans access to resources, education, mentorship, and advocacy throughout Michigan, and their vet-to-vet approach provides a community for Michigan’s farmer veterans who work together to ensure the long-term success of one another.

Through this new collaboration, MIFFS and TLD will partner to produce a Veterans in Agriculture Product Guide to be published in Fall 2018. VIA Product Guides will be distributed widely across the state and offer a unique opportunity to connect consumers and other markets to veteran food producers. Any veteran farmer/food producer in Michigan can register their farm or food business to be included in the Guide by going to: http://www.localdifference.org/tld-partners/Login.html

Questions about MIFFS Veterans in Agriculture Network:

Dylan Thomas, Director: twopinesfarm@gmail.com

Jeremy Huffman, Field Specialist (Flint area): jeremy@huffmanshomestead.com

Nicholas Kaminski, Field Specialist (Grand Rapids area): Nicholas.l.kaminski@gmail.com

Questions about Taste the Local Difference:

Melissa Orzechowski, U.P. Local Food Coordinator: melissa@localdifference.org

Bailey Samp, N.W. Local Food Coordinator: bailey@localdifference.org

Molly Stepanski, N.E. Local Food Coordinator: molly@localdifference.org

Kelly Wilson, S.E. Local Food Coordinator: kelly@localdifference.org

Kelly Wilson is the SE MI Local Food Coordinator for Taste the Local Difference. After a busy farm season, she is finally dusting off her running shoes again. If you have any favorite trails or routes you’d like to share, contact her at kelly@localdifference.org.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *